top of page

The Julian Costello Quartet features excellent musicians John Turville on piano, Andy Hamill on double bass and Tom Hooper on drums.

This Quartet has just recorded a new album called "And All The Birds Were Set Free" which released on Friday 26th April 2024 on 33 Jazz records and Bandcamp.

It features guest singer Georgia Mancio and was recorded at Steinway Recording Studios at the end of 2023 by Spencer Cozens.


The Julian Costello Quartet regularly plays venues across London and has toured the UK three times thanks to support from the  Arts Council. JCQ has toured France, Poland, Germany and Belgium.


"A saxophonist’s original chamber jazz writing which meanders between wistfulness, adventure and perky mischief.... Costello imbues his instrumental pieces with emotion, space and lyricism". London Jazz News










The Julian Costello Quartet has  previously recorded two albums on the acclaimed label 33jazz the first called Transitions  recorded at The Artesuono Studios in Italy with ECM engineer Stefano Amerio and the second album Connections: Without Borders recorded at the studios of Norwegian Pianist Øystein Sevåg in Norway engineered by Sebastian Ohmert Sonic Impulse Berlin. 

Julian Costello - Saxes  Maciek Pysz - Guitars  Yuri Goloubev/Jakub Cywinski  - Double Bass  Adam Teixeira - Drums

And All The Birds Were Set Free has been featured on BBC Radio 3 Round Midnight, Jazz fm's the Blueprint, Full Circle and True Brit and many local radio station's jazz shows.

"Having seen the core quartet performing live I can confirm that this is an excellent band and I would urge readers to check them out" The Jazz Mann

bottom of page